So…this blog isn’t going to write itself.

I started this blog ten days ago. Of course, I had the crazy idea that I would write a witty, insightful blog post every day, bringing a smile to the faces of my 100+ readers.  Then I realized that this, much like training for my 5K, is going to take time.  I have to start with baby steps.

Step one.

I wish I could tell you that I’ve completed the first week of the Couch to 5K plan and that I’ve lost a bunch of weight…but I haven’t.  Granted, what did I expect?  Around my birthday I ate a form of cake each day for six straight days – SIX!  Happily all of that red velvet goodness did not reflect on the scale, but deep down, I know it wasn’t the best idea. I also didn’t go to the gym as often as I had anticipated.  I went to one Zumba class. At least that’s something, right?

Saturday morning (as in two days ago) I went to the gym, jumped on the treadmill and started Week 1, Day 1 of the C25K plan.  I started off with 5 minute warm-up walk.  And we’re walking…we’re walking.  Then I had to jog for a minute.  Ok, this isn’t so bad.  Back to walking for a minute and a half.  And we’re continuing walking.  Now I’m jogging again. Alright, I can do this. Ten minutes later, my lungs are screaming and sweat is pouring down my face.  Why am I doing this to myself?! I was ready to give up thinking that there is no way I’d ever be able to run 3 miles. Before I knew it, the twenty minutes were up, and I was on my cool-down walk. I felt pretty great! 

Granted, I ran for all of nine minutes total, and I wasn’t sprinting for my life, but still! I’ve never been a runner, and most people could figure that out just by looking at me.  I’m sure the last time I ran was for some President’s Challenge in high school – and I’m pretty sure I walked at least 3/4 of that mile.  Do I think that I’m a runner now because I’ve completed the first step of the C25K plan?  No way!  I do, however, think that I could be on my way.

Leave a Reply

