Is this thing on?

It’s official – I’m the world’s worst blogger.  And to be honest, I also suck at this whole 5K training thing.

Yes, I have been able to train a little here and there (key word: little), but I haven’t been able to be consistent.  Between work, which includes 2 hours of commuting daily; various social engagements (showers, weddings, a trip to NYC, beer pong – yes, I probably could have bowed out of that one); volunteering; and having to take care of the day to day things like grocery shopping, cooking dinner, etc., it is very hard for me to find time to go to the gym. Ideally, I’d like to go to the gym in the mornings before work. I already get up at 5:30 to start getting ready for work, and I don’t know if my body is even equiped for a 4 am wakeup time. At least I am able to fit in two hour-long Zumba (working on adding a thrid) classes a week, which counts for something. I just need to get into the groove of getting my butt to the gym on the other days. I always have an excuse. Any advice or encouragement is welcomed!

I signed up to walk a 5K on May 22nd. The walk is the culmination of Weight Watchers’s Walk It Challenge. Thankfully my friend, Elisabeth, signed up with me. She too is training for her first 5K so I’m hoping we can get in a little walk/run/walk/run/etc. action.

I have also started taking a Zumba class (one of the two mentioned above) just a few blocks from work. Tonight is my second class, and I plan on purchasing a 10-class pass. I have also signed up for a Saturday morning Zumba class, but have missed 2 classes due to having to travel and will miss this week’s class. There’s always next week!

I’m not giving up yet! I will get back on track, and I will run this 5K in September!

5 thoughts on “Is this thing on?

  1. That video is awesome. “My mom called.” “Oh, that’s a day ender right there…” Ha! I feel you on the early wakeup/long commute thing. I leave for work at 6am and there is not a chance I could EVER get up at 4am, much less get up at 4am AND work out. Well, let’s be honest, I would do it once and then be like “well, that sucked” and give up entirely 🙂 But keep going! I know you will make it to the 5K!

Leave a Reply

