May 14th

Today is a very important day to me. It has more importance than my birthday or any holiday. Today marks two years that I have been in remission. Two years!

I was diagnosed with Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia (CML) in February of 2005 at age 23. Six months later I started treatment – daily doses of GLEEVEC. I never reached remission while I was on GLEEVEC, and in the summer of 2008 I learned that my body had become resistant to this treatment. Shortly after, I started a new treatment regimen of TASIGNA, and on May 14, 2009, I found out that I reached remission.

Last year I celebrated my first (of many!) “anniversary” with a bowling and karaoke party, which I called my Remission Rock Out. I don’t have anything planned for this year – partially due to the fact that I’ve been so busy, but I also felt bad asking people to celebrate yet another milestone for me so close to my 30th birthday blowout. Life sometimes gets in the way.

However, I will be planning some parties this year. I am serving on this year’s Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s Light the Night Walk Hartford planning committee (did you get all that?). I had such a moving experience at last year’s walk, which was also my first time participating, that I was eager to start planning for this year’s. I was also recently asked to be the Honored Hero for Light the Night Hartford, which is a huge honor to me – as was being asked to be an Honored Teammated for Team in Training (Hi Team Tahoe!!). I have some fun fundraising ideas floating around, which will hopefully top last year’s Remission Rock Out.

Stay tuned!

One thought on “May 14th

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Will Run For Beer! « Will Run For Beer

Leave a Reply

