Before you run, you must walk.

I’ll admit it.  I skipped my Zumba class yesterday morning. Sure, I felt a little guilty about it, but I was able to do a little gardening and take care of some spring cleaning.  I can’t feel guilty as long as I was productive, right?  Plus, I knew that I would what in store for me.

This morning I participated in the Weight Watchers Walk It Challenge – a noncompetitive 5K walk to celebrate the culmination of the Weight Watchers Walk It Challenge.  While I did not participate in the challenge itself, I participated in the walk because it was a reason to get me up and moving…even at 8 am on a Sunday morning. Thankfully my friend E (Hi!) was also crazy enough to consider doing the same thing. The walk was a few loops along the path next to the Connecticut River. The weather wasn’t the best – gray and in the 50s – but we really had  a lot of fun! We even got a medal when we finished the walk (we finished in just under 45 minutes – go us!).  It was great to see how excited everyone was about the walk, and how proud they were to have come this far.  Sure, a 3.1 miles walk may not seem like a big deal to you, but to a lot of people this morning, it was a huge accomplishment.  Great job Weight Watchers and Fleet Feet for making today a great event for all!

Waiting behind the starting line.  Yes, everyone got a electric blue shirt.

Walking to the finish line.

Proof that I did it! 🙂

After we crossed the finish line, E and I indulged in a piece of watermelon while walking back to our cars.  I went home, removed my bib and headed back out to the gym where I (and Nachos) completed Week 1, Day 3 of C25K. Finally! Pretty productive day before noon, wouldn’t you say?

3 thoughts on “Before you run, you must walk.

  1. Awesome!! 🙂 Way to go! I had a friend that did the WW Walk It challenge thsi weekend in Missouri! They must have been doing them throughout the country.

Leave a Reply

