Fight night.

I went to the gym on Tuesday night to attempt to tackle Week 2, Day 1 of C25K. I started off fine, but after about 10 minutes, my left shin and ankle started to hurt. The most important thing I’ve learned is to listen to your body, so I dialed back the dreadmill and tried to walk it out, but it still really hurt.  So I chalked Tuesday night up as a loss, knowing that I would have Saturday, Sunday and Monday (my first outdoor run) to attempt Week 2 of C25K.  I believe that my shin pain could have either been a) soreness from Sunday’s 5K walk immediately followed by C25K training or b) I’m striking with my heel rather than the ball of my foot.  I’m going to try really hard to be aware of my form the next time I run. I also think I’m going to pick up an ankle brace just to be safe.

A few weeks ago, my friend L asked if I would try a cardio kickboxing class with her seeing that she tried Zumba for me.  It’s only fair.  Last night was our first class…however, it wasn’t kickboxing.  It was a boxing class! 

I’ll admit, in the first 20 to 30 minutes of the class all I could think about is how much I wanted to kill L, but once the gloves went on, it was a whole different story.  Sure, it was a killer (mountain climbers, push ups, jump rope, football runs, etc.) workout, but it was also a lot of fun!  What other time are you going to be told to hit your instructor? I mean, really! I’m definitely going back next week, especially after one of the girls in the class told me not to give up on it just yet.  She’s been doing it for two months and loves it!  Let’s see how far I can go with it.  If I last for a few months, I will even invest in a set of gloves. Seriously, the “loaner” gloves make your hands smell so, so, so bad.

For those playing along at home, that would be one one-hour boxing class a week on top of the three one-hour Zumba classes and three days of C25K training. Might be time to drop my Saturday morning Zumba class…

One thought on “Fight night.

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Will Run For Beer! « Will Run For Beer

Leave a Reply

