It’s crunch time!

I have 54 days until the Dogfish Dash!  I’m honestly beginning to panic a bit because I have done NO training since dislocated my shoulder almost 2 months ago.  That’s right – no running!  Sure, I’ve been doing my fair share of Zumba these past few weeks, but that’s not going to help me get across that finish line.  (Though 3.1 miles of Zumba-ing might be a lot of fun.  Hmm…I may be onto something here.)

I’m just so nervous.  This will be the first time I’ve ever done something like this, and I really don’t want to fail – I don’t want to let myself down. I know that I won’t run an 8-minute mile or anything like that.  I just want to cross that finish line…even if I have to walk across it. I just want to feel that cold, free beer hit my lips and know that I truly earned it. Sure, I worry that I might be the slowest person or the heaviest person (silly, I know) out there, but at least I’ll be out there!

(I saw this on The Healthy Hedonista’s Facebook page.)

It’s time to push my worries aside and train my hardest.  I’d like to thank everyone (friends, family, blog readers) who has already encouraged me on my journey. I just ask that you please continue sending that encouragement for the next 54 days.

6 thoughts on “It’s crunch time!

  1. Lol…a Zumba dash would be fun! I can see myself now zumba-ing for 3.1 miles. Yes, you may be on to something. Plan it and I’m there…lol 😀 I ran 1 5K and realized running ain’t my thang. My goal was to not come in dead last! Goal achieved! Good luck on you on your run. I love that quote you posted. And it’s so true.

Leave a Reply

