What day is it?

I spent all day yesterday thinking that it was Wednesday.  It was kind of a downer realizing that it was only Tuesday, but that also meant that I had a Zumba class!  As I mentioned before, the condo complex I live in started offering Zumba classes for residents in their community room for a small fee. The condo association just approved another session so I’ll be attending Tuesday night classes just a short walk from my home. Can’t beat that, right?

I thought that after getting up at 5 AM I would be too exhausted to think about a Zumba class.  Admittedly I tried to talk myself out of it – “If I don’t go, I can do laundry, cook dinner, etc.” But as I was trying to talk myself out of going, I was getting ready for class and made it there just before class started at 6:30.  See how that works? The class is relatively small – last night there were only 4 people and the instructor – but sometimes a small class is nice because you can get personalized instruction.  Anyhow, as I mentioned yesterday, my ankle was bothering me a bit.  I made sure to wear my brace to Zumba, but it still bothered me a bit.  I listened to my body and took it a smidge easier than I normally would all while insuring that I got somewhat of a decent workout in.

When my alarm went off at 5 AM this morning, my body – especially my ankle – was  a bit achy even after having taken Aleve before bed. So I decided that today would have to be my rest day for the week.  Honesty, what did I expect myself to be able to do after trying to “run” after an almost three-month hiatus and throwing a Zumba class in the mix less than 12-hours later?  Am I disappointed that I didn’t go to the gym this morning? Sure, but it’s not the end of the world.  There’s always tomorrow (or even later today)!

Leave a Reply

