Fire Up For Fall – Week 4 (and a day).

Hi fellow FUFFers!  I apologize for being a bit late on this week’s post, but things have been a bit hectic lately…in a good way.

This week’s positive picture comes from the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s Light the Night Walk that was held on October 6, 2011. I was this year’s Honored Patient and even gave a speech before the walk.  I’ve been a survivor of leukemia (CML) for almost 7 years now and have been in remission for about 2 and a half years. This picture makes me feel strong for what I’ve gone through.  I’m proud to be called a survivor! *Cue the Destiny Child’s song*

1. What have you done this week to achieve your goals? 

  1. Finish my first 5K, which is this Sunday.Completed 9/25/11. You can read about it here.
  2. Improve upon last year’s finishing time in this year’s Manchester Road Race.
  3. Complete the C25K plan. – This is so not going to happen.  Moving on…
  4. Go to the gym at least 3 times a week in addition to my Zumba classes. – I only made it to one Zumba class this past week because I was getting ready for the Light the Night Walk.  I had to skip Zumba Toning because it was the same night as the Walk. That being said, I did walk 1.5 miles in less than 30 minutes the night of the Walk.
  5. Track all of my food/drink/activity everyday using Weight Watchers eTools. – I’m was a baaaaad tracker this week.  I only tracked up to Wednesday night.  My mother came to visit from Wednesday night through Sunday morning.  We did lobster rolls, hibachi, Thai food, cupcakes, etc.  Oh well!  Back on the wagon again.

2. What have you done to make yourself feel fabulous? 

On Wednesday evening, I went to visit my amazing hair stylist, Tutti.  He cut and chopped the life back into my hair. It was getting far too long and unruly.  Now I feel fabulous, and I’ve got compliments ever since!

3. What is your go to food or activity when you’ve had a bad day?

I’m a sucker for comfort foods when I’ve had a bad day – mac and cheese, ice cream and peanut butter cups.  Quite the combo, no? After I’ve carb-loaded, I’m either going to watch a marathon of bad TV or nap.  I also like to watch bad TV and nap when I’m having a good day so that doesn’t say much.

4. What’s the last thing you did that you were really proud of?

As I mentioned above, I was asked to be the Honored Patient for this year’s Light the Night Walk in Hartford.  The role of the honored patient is to help motivate and inspire event participants. I’ve never been the best public speaker and have never spoken to a crowd larger than 30 or 40 people.  On Thursday night I stood in front of 500+ people and spoke from my heart. I’m so proud that I could motivate other walkers and get my message across (all while not sounding like a farm animal).

Note:  My name is Dominique, not Dominic. I’m just surprised that he pronounced my last name correctly, though I did tell him that Saucy or Sassy would also be acceptable.

5. Fun Time:  What was your favorite school subject, and your least favorite? Why?

My favorite subject in school was English, especially British Literature.  My favorite classes were my Shakespeare and Chaucer classes.  I also loved my Middle English class in college.  I’ve always been a voracious reader and enjoy writing for pleasure. My lease favorite subject in school was Geometry.  In high school it was the class where I got less than an A, which was pretty much the end of my life.  It just wasn’t for me I suppose!

Weight Wars

6 thoughts on “Fire Up For Fall – Week 4 (and a day).

  1. Wow you are amazing! I didn’t realise you were a survivor, I felt really emotional watching your speech. Your shape looks fabulous in that t shirt and the hair cut is amazing. Thank you so much for sharing your story.

  2. I’m a survivor
    I’m not gon’ give up
    I’m not gon’ stop
    I’m gon’ work harder!

    I’m a survivor
    I’m gonna make it
    I will survive
    Keep on survivin’!

    Great. Now that song is stuck in my head. Congrats to you! Love your new hair.

Leave a Reply

