What’s in the Crockpot?

One of my favorite segments of Keep It Up David!‘s blog is his feature – What’s in the RediSetGo? You never know what’s going to be in there! I think it’s just a fun way of sharing recipes with readers. I’m going to “borrow” David’s idea and start What’s in the Crockpot? Yes, I know that a crock pot isn’t as flashy as a RediSetGo, but I still love it! The weather is cooler, the leaves are changing, the mums are out – Fall has arrived in New England. This is the perfect time to break out my trusty red Crockpot. I don’t know what it is about fall and winter, but I think these are the ideal seasons for crock pot meals. I hope to be able to share lots of slow-cooker recipes with everyone. In the meantime, please enjoy the first installment of What’s in the Crockpot?

Today I brought out the Crockpot to make, what I hope will be, a perfect fall meal. So what’s in the Crockpot?

20111017-102303.jpg

Turkey and White Bean Pumpkin Chili!

20111017-182224.jpg

I found this recipe on Skinny Taste and had to try it! My boyfriend has never really been able to enjoy pumpkin because of his cinnamon allergy. I, on the other hand, love pumpkin and thought that incorporating it in the chili would give it a savory, fall taste that we could both enjoy. I actually did all the prep work on Sunday night and placed the removable stoneware in the fridge overnight. It took me less than 20 minutes to put together and it cooked while we were at work. (P.S. The house smelled amazing when we got home.) I substituted 93% lean ground turkey for a PointsPlus value of 6 Points+ for each 1 cup serving. It doesn’t get much easier than this people!

20111017-205917.jpg1 and 1/2 cups of Turkey White Bean Pumpkin Chili with reduced fat shredded cheese and light sour cream = 10 Points+

Stay tuned for future installments of What’s in the Crockpot?

Leave a Reply

