What’s in the Crockpot? – Part Deux

Welcome to another installment of “What’s in the Crockpot?” Today was a chilly, rainy fall day – perfect for another crock pot meal.  So here we go…

What’s in the Crockpot?

20111019-204000.jpg

Beef Stroganoff!

20111019-204014.jpg

I found this recipe on the Cooking Light website. I’ve always loved beef stroganoff, but often considered it a high fat, high calorie meal.  Of course I jumped at the chance to try this lightened up version. This recipe didn’t take very long to prep, and I was able to do a lot of it the night before. I combined the veggies and spices in the stoneware and stored it in the fridge overnight.  I also sliced the beef the night before and stored it in a Ziploc bag. Before I got in the shower this morning, I combined the steak with the ingredients in the stoneware and added the flour/beef stock mix.  The stroganoff cooked on high for an hour while I was getting ready for work. Then all I had to do was turn down the heat and set the timer. I cooked the noodles (I used 4 ounces o Ronzoni Smart Taste Extra Wide Noodles) while the stroganoff sat for ten minutes. This recipe makes 4 servings at an estimated 13 PointPlus.

20111019-204026.jpgI measured out 4 oz. of dry noodles, which made about 10 oz of cooked noodles (2 1/4 oz. per serving).

20111019-204036.jpg2 1/4 oz. of egg noodles with approximately 1 cup of beef stroganoff = 13 PointsPlus!

Two crock-pot dishes in three days? Oh yes, did I mention how much I love my Crockpot?! Stay tuned for more installments of “What’s in the Crockpot?”

Leave a Reply

