I’m still here.

I apologize for the unexpected hiatus.

Like most Connecticut residents, I was hit pretty hard by Winter Storm Alfred on Halloween. We lost power for eight days as did most of the town I live in.  We were very thankful to have a generator for six of those days, but not everyone was as lucky. No power meant no gym, no Zumba classes, no healthy meals. I’m not sure what it is about losing power that makes one feel so helpless. I immediately turned to comfort food, eating out at least once a day and spending my nights cuddled under piles of blankets. However, I managed to lose .6 of a pound so I guess it wasn’t all that bad. Once our power was restored, P and I spent the next few days trying to get back on track. We had to do some serious grocery shopping since we lost everything in our fridge. On top of that we had to pack for our long weekend in Florida. This left very little time to hit the gym, and I even missed Zumba class on Thursday because I got stuck in traffic on my way home from work. It just wasn’t our week…

I spent four days in Florida visiting my grandparents. The weather was great and I spent most of my time cooking meals for the family, including a full Thanksgiving dinner, which we ate next to the pool. Yes, I cooked my first turkey (using a Cooking Light recipe) and it turned out great! We even went swimming in the heated, salt water pool after all of our turkey. You can’t do that in New England in November! P and I landed back in Connecticut by 5 PM on Monday evening and went straight to Target to pick up some things to get us through the next day (salad stuff mostly…and some Christmas lights – What!? They were on sale. Don’t judge me.). Last night we had aspirations of going to the gym, but I, once again, got stuck in some traffic on the way home and we ended up just going grocery shopping instead. (Notice a trend?)

Tonight we must go to the gym! We’re just over a week away from the Manchester Road Race on Thanksgiving morning. I can’t improve my time if I don’t train. Sure, I’m going to mostly walk the race, but as you know, I’d like to beat my time from last year…even if just by a minute or two! I know that the holidays are a hectic time for everyone with dinners, parties, shopping, etc. I just have to make sure I carve (pun intended) out some time for myself.  Here’s hoping!

2 thoughts on “I’m still here.

  1. So glad to hear all is well and that you are safe! Good luck at the race – if I am in Connecticut at all over my winter break, I am going to be looking for races!

Leave a Reply

