Fire Up For Fall – Weeks 7, 8 and 9.

Due to my unexpected hiatus mentioned in my earlier post, I am three weeks behind in the “Fire Up For Fall” Challenge. So instead of catching up in three separate entries, I am just going to summarize three weeks of FUFFing into one entry.

FUFF Week 7 – These are all the clothes that I’m donating to Goodwill – most of which are too big (YAY!). Goodbye clothes, I won’t miss you!

FUFF Week 8 – I think this is pretty self explanatory.

FUFF Week 9 – A picture of my first turkey! I’m sorry, but I’m pretty proud of this. I used a recipe from Cooking Light, which goes to show that you can make a delicious turkey that is also healthy!

1. What have you done this week towards your goals?

  1. Finish my first 5K, which is this Sunday.Completed 9/25/11. You can read about it here.
  2. Improve upon last year’s finishing time in this year’s Manchester Road Race. – With just over a week to go until the race, my only hope is that I finish it in less than an hour and 40 minutes. P and I are planning a week of endurance training in hopes of getting ready for it.
  3. Complete Week 4 of C25K plan. – Not happening. No way, no how.
  4. Go to the gym at least 3 times a week in addition to my Zumba classes. – As I mentioned in my earlier post, because of the power outages the majority of my Zumba classes were canceled. Travel also caused me to miss a class or two.
  5. Track all of my food/drink/activity everyday using Weight Watchers eTools. – I have trying to stay on track with tracking and am even contemplating going back to WW meetings this week. I’m not as good as I could be.

2. What have you done to make you feel fabulous?

As I mentioned above, I did a nice purge of my closet and filled a 25 gallon bin full of clothes that I am going to give to Goodwill.  Most of the clothes are too big for me now. Also, some of them aren’t very age appropriate anymore – when am I going to wear a semi-sheer peacock halter top again…seriously?

Week 7 Questions
1. How do you pull yourself out of a slump or prevent yourself falling in to one?

If I feel a slump coming on I’ll do one of the following:

  • Grab a beer and relax.
  • Convince P to go on a random date night.
  • Listen to music and dance around the house.
  • Go shopping – usually for makeup. Clothes shopping can sometimes add to the slump.

I don’t think that you can really prevent falling into a slump…slumps happen. You just have to make sure that it’s only temporary.

2. Are you naturally positive or do you have to work at it? How do you keep yourself positive?

I always think that I’m annoyingly optimistic. I try to see the good in things and find the silver lining in most situations. I think that I’ve always been a positive person, but I really strive towards positivity since being diagnosed with cancer. It made me realize that no matter what, things could be worse. Plus, I have to make the most of the second chance I’ve been given at life. Why not enjoy it?

3.If you could go away anywhere tomorrow (and work wouldn’t get weird) where would you go?  

I’d go to London with my BFF. We had grand plans of going to London during our 30th year, but for one reason or another, we were unable to make that happen this year. I feel horrible that we didn’t go because it was something that we were both looking forward to. So if I could go anywhere tomorrow, I’d fly us to England for a few weeks.  Of course, I’d have to take a quick trip to Prauge to visit A & F and see their new home.

Week 8 Questions
1. How important is a social life to you? Are you a loner or a butterfly or somewhere in between?

I really enjoy spending time with my friends. I love to go out, try new restaurants, experience new things…to the point where I often spread myself too thin. I am definitely not a loner, but I’m not sure I would consider myself a butterfly. I do have this weird thing about me where I feel like I’m missing out on things if I cannot make it to all the social outings that my friends are at.  Like I will be replaced or something.  It’s totally insane, but everyone has their -isms I suppose.

2. How do you balance life outside your home with healthy living?

If you haven’t picked up on this already, you may know that it is very difficult for me to balance life outside of home with healthy living. Finding time to go to the gym between work and other social engagements is tough. I try my best to eat well at work and balance my diet to allow for happy hour drinks and the occasional pulled pork nachos and fried pickles. Of course, I could always do better. I need to learn to make time for myself.

3. What do you like to do for fun?

Aside from the obvious drinking beers with my friends, I love to host parties. LOVE. I love having to come up with a menu and prepare the meal. I love decorating and sending out invitations. I just have a great time creating a fun atmosphere for my friends and family.

Week 9 Questions
1. What is the most positive thing you’ve taken away from this challenge?

While this challenge was clearly not a success for me, I was able to meet and connect with fellow bloggers. While I know my blog has a long way to go, it was nice to have regular visitors cheering me on.  You guys rock!

2. It’s your last week, the run to the finish, what is your priority?

My priority is to reach 2 more goals – Improve upon last year’s finishing time in this year’s Manchester Road Race; and track all of my food/drink/activity everyday using Weight Watchers eTools. These 2 goals are definitely attainable, even if I only have a week or so left in the 10-week challenge.

3. Desert Island, you can take 1 person, 1 famous person and 3 items besides food and water. Who and what do you take?

I’d take my BFF (sorry P, I love you dearly but I’m afraid you’d go all “Alive” on me or something), Gerard Butler (I mean, since P won’t be there, why not?), my iPod, the complete works of William Shakespeare and a tent. Resourceful, eh?

 

Weight Wars
Leave a Reply

