What’s in the Crockpot? VI

What’s in the Crockpot?

20120111-184240.jpg

Cheeseburger Mac Attack!

20120111-212010.jpg

Sorry I forgot to take a “lid off the Crockpot” picture here. Whoops!

One of my favorite things to do on the weekend is channel surf between the Food Network and Cooking Channel. I happened to be watching Food Network when Hungry Girl came on. If you haven’t heard of her, where have you been?! This week’s episode focused on meals that were 200 calories or less. One of her recipes was a slow cooker main dish involving cheese and pasta. Count me in! I altered the recipe a bit, but you can find the original recipe here.

Ingredients

5 ounces of elbow macaroni cooked al dente (I used Ronzoni Smart Taste)
1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
10 ounces of lean ground turkey
2 tablespoons of ketchup
20 ounces of Green Giant frozen cauliflower in cheddar cheese
3 wedges of Laughing Cow Light Swiss
2 scallions, thinly sliced

Directions

Cook the pasta until it is al dente.
Combine turkey, onion and ketchup in the stoneware of the crock pot.
Gently food in the frozen cauliflower.
Stir in cooked pasta.
Cook in the crock pot on high for 3-4 hours or on low for 7-8 hours.
Stir in the wedges of cheese and scallions.
Season to taste with salt and pepper.
Enjoy!

This recipe yields 8 servings. According to Hungry Girl, one serving (about a cup) is less than 200 calories and only 5 PointsPlus. However, when I enter the recipe in my WW Recipe Builder, the Cheeseburger Mac Attack is only 4 PointsPlus! Unfortunately, I let it cook a little too long so it looked more like a mush. It still got two thumbs up from P.

2 thoughts on “What’s in the Crockpot? VI

  1. Mmmmmmm…look scrumptious!! Have you seen those crockpot condoms? I follow TJs Test Kitchen and she found thes bags that you place in your crock pot when cooking. Basically you cook the food in the bag which makes cleaning your crockpot a breeze. They’re BPA free.

    • I have some at home! Unfortunately, I don’t usually use them when I leave the crockpot going all day. I bet my boyfriend would appreciate it if I used the liners more often so he has less to clean up (we have an “I cook/you clean” agreement).

Leave a Reply

