What’s in the Crockpot? Post #10!

What’s in the Crockpot?

20120308-162347.jpg

20120308-162412.jpg

Pork Chops and Bean Cassoulet!

A co-worker of mine, who also reads this blog, asked me if I had any cassoulet recipes. Unfortunately I had never made cassoulet in my life! When I stumbled upon this recipe in my Weight Watchers One Pot Cookbook, I knew I had to try it out!

Pork Chops and Bean Cassoulet

Ingredients

3 – 15 oz. cans of cannellini beans (white kidney beans), drained and rinsed
1 – 8 oz. can of tomato sauce – I used no salt added
1 c. reduced sodium beef stock – I used fat-free, reduced sodium chicken broth because it’s what I had on hand
1/2 tsp. of salt
1/4 tsp. of black pepper
6 – 1/4 lb. boneless pork loin chops
2 onions, thinly sliced
4 cloves of garlic, minced
1 cup of fresh whole wheat breadcrumbs (about 2 slices of whole wheat bread) – I used Stew Leonard’s Whole Wheat bread
1/4 c. of grated Parmesan cheese
1/3 c. fresh flat leaf parsley, chopped – Admittedly, I forgot this ingredient

Directions

Stir together beans, tomato sauce, broth, 1/4 tsp. of salt and 1/8 tsp of pepper in the crock pot (as you can see, I used my “big girl” crock pot ).

Season the pork chops with the remaining salt and pepper. Spray a large skillet with cooking spray and set over medium heat. Add the pork and cook until lightly browned on both sides – about 6 minutes. Transfer the pork to the crock pot. Cook the carrots and onions for about 5 minutes, or until the onions are softened. Add the garlic and cook for an additional 30 seconds, or until fragrant. Add mixture to the crock pot.

Cover the crock pot and cook until the pork is fork tender; 4-6 hours on high or 8-10 hours on low.

About 30 minutes before cooking time is up, sprinkle cassoulet evenly with bread crumbs, Parmesan and parsley; cover and cook 30 minutes longer.

20120308-163508.jpg

This recipe serves six.  One serving yields one pork chop and about 3/4 of a c. of the bean mixture for only 10 PointsPlus!

One thought on “What’s in the Crockpot? Post #10!

  1. Pingback: Sunday Recap. « Will Run For Beer

Leave a Reply

