What’s in the Crockpot? Volume XI.

What’s in the Crockpot?

20120314-135412.jpg

20120314-135420.jpg

Jerked Pulled Pork with Rum BBQ Sauce!

So for those of you who don’t know, I spent a few years living in the deep South – Mississippi to be exact. This is where I was introduced to the awesomeness that is a pulled pork sandwich. I am always on the hunt for a great pulled pork sandwich. Right now, the Carolina Pulled Pork Sandwich from Bethany Blues holds the lead. When I found this recipe for pulled pork in my Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Recipes for Two cookbook, I knew I had to try it!

Ingredients

1/2 tsp. of paprika – I used smoked paprika.
1/4 tsp. of garlic powder
1/4 tsp. of salt
1/4 tsp. of black pepper
1/8 c. of lemon juice
1 1/4 lb. of lean, pork tenderloin – I used closer to 1 1/8 lb.
1 c. of sliced onion
2 Tbsp. of dark rum – I used Dogfish Head Honey Brown Rum. A nod to my DE roots.
1 c. of barbecue sauce – I used Stew Leonard’s brand BBQ sauce.

Directions

Combine the chili powder, garlic powder, allspice, salt and pepper in a small bowl.

Drizzle the tenderloin with the lemon juice, then rub the spices into it. Place the roast in a zipper-top plastic bag and marinate in the refrigerator for 1 to 3 hours, or overnight.

Place the onion in the bottom of the slow cooker.

Remove the roast from the bag and cut into 1-inch cubes; place on top of the onions.

Combine the barbecue sauce and rum in a small bowl; mix well and pour over the roast.

Cover and cook on LOW for 6 to 7 hours, until the meat is fork-tender. Pull into shreds with two forks and serve hot.

The original recipe is for two servings, but I felt there was enough meat to split it into four. Each serving is only 5 PointPlus!

20120314-135429.jpg

P and I enjoyed our pulled pork on a whole wheat bun with a side of sweet potato puffs. Yum!

One thought on “What’s in the Crockpot? Volume XI.

Leave a Reply

