“The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.”

I had every good intention when I set my alarm for 5 am this morning. I assumed my weekday morning routine could be adjusted to allow for some quality time with our new treadmill. It seemed easy enough.

5:00 – 5:30: Walk Gus.
5:30 – 6:00/6:15: Work on fitness.
6:15 – 7:15: Get ready for the day.

When my alarm went off this morning, I realized I had already hit snooze in my sleep and that it was already 5:10. No biggie! That’s still 30 minutes that I can spend on the treadmill. I roll out of bed and try to wake Gus – he wasn’t having any of that. Ok, ok I’ll workout first then walk the dog. I go downstairs, lace up my shoes, queue up Netflix and attempt to start the treadmill. We didn’t set up user profiles yet so I decided to go manual this morning. As soon as I start increasing the speed, there’s a little furry face staring at me from the stairs. Of course now he wants to go for a walk. So I change into my snow boots, bundle up and take Gus outside. Once Gus finally does his business – which takes a while when there is a lot of snow – I put my running sneakers back on. At this point I apparently thought it’d be a good idea to try to figure out the user settings for the treadmill. Fast forward five or so minutes, and it’s just before six.

So today, even with my best intentions, I was unable to get a workout in before work. I’ll try again tomorrow morning.

Leave a Reply

