Still learning to run for beer…

After an unnecessarily long hiatus from blogging, I am back!  Three months have passed since my last post and I am no closer to finishing that 5K.

One would think that getting married in less than eight months, having to try on wedding dresses, and wanting to look good in a bathing suit on your honeymoon would be enough motivation to get this whole healthy lifestyle/losing weight plan in gear.  However, I became comfortable…too comfortable…and watched the number on the scale climb towards something I was horrified to see.  I realize that I should not let a number define me, but I feel the weight that I put on.  I feel it when I went shopping for a dress…I feel it when I put on my clothes…I feel it when I got on the treadmill. It took seeing that number and feeling it on my body to get my mind back in the game.

I overheard a colleague complaining about her weight and her desire to change her lifestyle, and thought that this whole journey is a lot easier when you have support.  While I have an awesome support group of friends and family, sometimes you need the support of someone who is walking in the same shoes…someone that can hold you accountable for the majority of the week.  We decided that, with the help of another colleague who is also a certified trainer, we were going to change our lives.  We brought a scale into work and weighed in this morning.

So today it starts, and I don’t want to look back again.

Image

Google Image Search

One thought on “Still learning to run for beer…

  1. Glad you’re back! I had that aha moment too when I stepped on the scale, 375.6 was not a number I EVER thought I would live to see!! Remember, in the words of Tom Hopkins “I am not judged by the number of times I fail, but by the number of times I succeed: and the number of times I succeed is in direct proportion to the number of times I fail and keep trying.” Looking forward to reading about it!

Leave a Reply

