That all too familiar feeling.

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

I’m an emotional eater.  I eat when I’m stressed or bored…when I’m happy or when I’m sad. So basically I’m always eating – ha!  As I mentioned in an earlier post, I was celebrating a very important anniversary earlier this week.  Apparently that was enough of a reason to throw my healthy eating out of the window.  I mean bagel-munchkins-cupcake-ice cream out of the window.

Yes, I was celebrating.  Yes, I realize that one day cannot undo everything I’ve done.  Yet, there is always a struggle to get back on the horse (I’m full of clichés today – sorry!).  I recovered well yesterday, making smart choices like drinking lots of water and eating fruit instead of hitting the vending machine.  However, the celebrating caught up with me when I stepped on the scale this morning (ugh), and that all too familiar feeling of failure crept over me.

Time to press the reset button again and keep moving forward.    I can reprogram myself to have a healthier relationship with food.  It won’t happen overnight, but there are other ways   healthier ways to deal with my emotions.  For example, I just purchased The Biggest Loser:  The Workout – Weight Loss Yoga to hopefully help me cope with some of the stress in my life (planning a wedding is stressful y’all).  Indulging in “retail therapy” is out of the question as I’m on a strict budget, so I’m looking for suggestions.

Are you an emotional eater?  How do you “deal” without turning to food?

3 thoughts on “That all too familiar feeling.

  1. I’m with you. I’m reading The Hunger Fix at the moment and so much rings true and its really really helping me rationalise things and realise that I’m an addict. I’m a slave to it all. I’m blogging about it on Monday please have a look.

  2. Hi, my name is Stacy, and I’m an emotional/stress eater. I fall off the wagon too. I try to keep my hands busy: crafting, puzzles, painting my nails (a lot). I wish I had an answer, but I don’t. The best thing we can do is forgive ourselves and start each fresh.

Leave a Reply

