There is a 5 a.m., too?!

As I look at my life, one thing has become clear – if I want to go to the gym more regularly, I’m going to have to going in the mornings.

morning workout pic

There are plenty of good reasons to work out in the evening – having a workout buddy, being able to work off the stress of the day, etc..  However, I find myself not being able to find the extra 30-minutes in the evening between my commute, running errands, and other personal commitments.  Well, that’s not entirely true – I find myself making excuses to not go the gym after work.  Will a half an hour at the gym at night really keep me from being able to pick up laundry detergent at Target?  Will 45-minutes at the gym mean that I won’t eat dinner until 9:30 – some night yes, but not always.  The reality is if I just make the time and effort to work out in the morning, I will have my evenings free to do as I please without the guilt.

This isn’t a foreign concept to me – I used to work out every morning before work.  Of course, it was easier back then because I didn’t have to leave for work by 7 a.m. and my father would wake me up every day to go to the gym with him (I was living at home at the time).  I remember feeling accomplished and motivated – all before 8 a.m., which is quite a feat.  With discipline, I can get back in the routine of working out in the morning.  As much as I love sleep and hitting my snooze button multiple times every day, I have to love myself more!  My goal is to wake up at 5 a.m. at least twice this week to go to the gym before work.  That is until it becomes socially acceptable to have happy hour(s) at the gym.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

