Gone Juicing

About a month ago, a friend and colleague expressed an interest in doing a juice cleanse.  She started doing a lot of research and shared her findings.  A few of us at work decided that it sounded like a great way to hit our body’s reset button, and aside from the cost, it sounded relatively painless.  Soon a few of us turned into two of us, which then turned into three because I convinced my husband to try it too.

There is a health food place – Pure Health Lounge – a few blocks from my office that offers an all natural juice cleanse.  Absolutely NO chemicals.  The three of us took a look at our calendars and decided that the best time to do a cleanse for us would be a Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.  So we committed to it – Tuesday, June 3 would be our first day of a three-day cleanse.  In the 2-3 days leading up to the cleanse, P and I cut out caffeine, eliminated dairy and red meat, and tried our best to stick to a raw diet.  Of course, we weren’t perfect, but we tried!

juice1

The Pure Health Lounge Cleanse

Every night, I picked up our fresh juices for the next day.  Then for three days, we followed this schedule (give or take 15-30 minutes):

7:00 am – Drink 32oz of room temperature filtered water with a squeeze of lemon
8:00 am – Drink #1 Green Goodness – kale, cucumber, spinach, celery, apple, ginger and lemon
10:00 am – Drink #2 Orange Cocktail – carrots, orange, tomato, pear and ginger
12:00 pm – Drink #3 Beet Red – beets, apple, romaine lettuce, ginger and lemon
2:00 pm – Drink #4 Lemon Zinger – lemon, apple, ginger, agave, cayenne and filtered water
4:30 pm – Drink #5 Green Goodness again
6:30 pm – Drink #6 Cashew Delight – cashews, agave, cinnamon and filtered water

It’s also recommended that you drink at least 12 ounces of water between each juice.  Needless to say, this results in a lot of trips to the restroom!

Day One – My first thought waking up was, “I’m not going to be able to eat today” which of course, instantly made my stomach growl.  Chugging 32 ounces of water shut my stomach up.  I was so busy running from multiple appointments then to work that I didn’t have a chance to think about hunger.  However, after I got to work and had the Lemon Zinger, I started to feel the hunger pains.  I gave in around 3:30 and had eight almonds.  Never again will I ever say that I felt satisfied after eating only eight almonds, but they did the trick!  By late afternoon, I was ready to go home and go straight to bed, but got a second wind after drink #6 (the best tasting, in my opinion).

Day Two –  I was a little groggy when I first woke up, but my energy levels dramatically increased as the morning went on.  The juices seemed a bit sweeter today – except for the Green Goodness.  I don’t think you can make celery taste sweet.  Overall, I noticed that I was no longer feeling hungry and it took me a bit longer than the day before to finish my juices.

Day Three – I practically jumped out of bed this morning!  I felt fantastic and was ready to tackle the day.  However, I wonder if I was just ready to get this day over with so that I could eat solid food again.  Regardless, I was going to ride this wave of energy throughout the day.  We’re talking “people probably want to punch you in the face because you’re so energetic” energy here.  I felt really full most of the day, and it took me about an hour to finish most of the juices, so I constantly felt like I was drinking.  However, I barely choked down drink #6.  I think I was just over drinking juice at this point.

True story.

True story.

I felt pretty amazing the day after the cleanse and lost eight pounds, which helps with the amazingness factor.  I didn’t find myself craving anything while cleansing, even when a plate of brownies and cookies passed under my nose TWICE!  Though I did miss chewing – thanks for the heads up on that one Stef and Matty.  It helps to have a support system.  I don’t know if I could have done it without knowing that my friend and husband were also suffering along with me.  Of course, there are also a few downsides to doing a 3-day cleanse.  The lack of caffeine caused me to have a bit of a headache for the duration of the cleanse, but it was something that could be easily ignored.  I was so run down on day one that it took all of my energy to walk the extra block to pick up the juices.  You cannot workout while on the cleanse aside from walking, light stretching, and yoga which hindered my morning workout routine.  However, it was worth it.  Overall, I would definitely do this cleanse again – next time maybe only a one-day one after the holidays.

Leave a Reply

