Hello Zumba, my old friend.

Yesterday marked my triumphant return to Zumba!

For those who know me or have followed my blog for a while know that I used to attend two to three Zumba classes a week religiously. I cannot remember the definitive reason why I stopped attending classes a few years ago. However, I do know that, like with most things, the minute you break a routine it is much harder to get back into the groove.

While I have missed Zumba-ing, I have not given it much thought over the last few years. My gym offers Zumba classes, but they generally do not fit into my schedule. I mean, who wants to go to a 7 p.m. Zumba class anyway? When my friend and colleague, Margo, mentioned that she had recently attended a Zumba class after work, my interest was piqued. Margo found a class at a small fitness and dance studio about a five-minute drive from our office for only $5 per class. As she talked about how much fun she had in her class, I found myself starting to feel jealous. Jealous of the fun she was having; jealous of an exhilarating workout; jealous of all of the booty shaking. Before I knew it, I was asking her if I could join her at her next Zumba class.

tumblr_inline_mtei72sxhd1rb2t1j

via GIPHY

That brings us to yesterday, and 6 p.m. could not come soon enough! Admittedly I was a little nervous about lacing up my Zumba sneakers (that is if I had actually found my Zumba sneakers) and shaking my bon bon in a room full of strangers. Once the music started, all of those insecurities melted away, and I had SO MUCH FUN!

 

The class was small – about 10 or 12 people – and the instructor was fierce (I especially loved her studded leggings). I was definitely rusty, but I really tried my best. The encouraging smirks from the instructor definitely helped boost my confidence. By the end of the class, I was literally a hot mess. Plus, according to my Fitbit, I burned over 700 calories in a little less than an hour. Seriously, it was the best $5 I have spent in a long time. Needless to say, I am really looking forward to incorporating more Zumba classes into my routine.

See you again on Monday, my friend!

One thought on “Hello Zumba, my old friend.

Leave a Reply

